February’s Book Club Pick

love notes
Get my 15 simple practices to help you prioritize self-care. Download your “Tranquility in the Everyday workbook."
CHECK HERE

Topics

Archives

recent

posts

popular

posts

Welcome back to the Tranquility du Jour virtual book club! From one bibliophile to another, let’s read stories that move us, make us think, and open up important conversations.

Together we’ll read and discuss in our TDJ Insider’s Facebook group and hopefully in person someday soon. You in? Hope so!

February Book
Description

Close the gap between yourself and your spirit—the person you know you can be. Let your choices reflect the person you want to become, not just the person you think you are. Keep moving.

For fans of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of quotes and essays on facing life’s challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience.

When Maggie Smith, the award-winning author of the viral poem “Good Bones,” started writing inspirational daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. In this deeply moving book of quotes and essays, Maggie writes about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. Like kintsugi, the Japanese art of mending broken ceramics with gold, Keep Moving celebrates the beauty and strength on the other side of loss. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?

Why I Chose It

February is hard. The pandemic is hard. Lack of sunlight is hard. Social distancing is hard. Feeling cooped up is hard. This book felt like a much-need soul salve that we could all use right now—encouragement to keep moving. Have a listen to this NPR interview. I hope you’ll join me!

How to Join

Join us over on the TDJ Insider’s Facebook group. Look for the pinned post in our Facebook group. I’ll share a few thoughts and prompts mid-month and welcome you to share favorite quotes and takeaways throughout the month.

Want a physical copy of the book? Here’s a list of Black-owned bookstores. Or download the book via an e-reader or Audible (use this link for a free 30-day trial and first book).